2660 Broadway St, Redwood City, CA, 94063 

Business Hours:
Business Hours:
Tues. – Sat:
11:30am – 3pm
5pm – 9pm
11:30 – 3pm
Restaurant Location
Small town
Number of Employees
Number of Seats
Average Price
Restaurant Type
Main Stream Americans

Ratings 140 people have voted

Awards and Honors

For the Top 100 Restaurants
Top 100 Takeouts  (2011)


Reviewed by: Dmitry G. on: 3/22/2013 4:16:00 AM
Food paradise.
Reviewed by: Andrew C. on: 3/10/2013 4:31:00 PM
Love the dumplings
Reviewed by: Melissa C. on: 3/5/2013 5:26:00 AM
This place is THE spot for dumplings. You don't come here for the service, you don't come here for the ambiance, you don't come here for an elaborate menu...the dumplings make this place shine! And with a name like i-Dumpling, it's what's expected.The hubs has been raving about this place since he's had the opportunity to try it a few times due to it's close location to his work. Every single time I've been in the area has always been on days that this joint is closed (Mondays). I was finally in the area on a day that wasn't Monday so I jumped at the opportunity to give this place a try.Upon entering, this place looks like nothing special. It's really a hole in the wall with a handful of tables. If you come with a big group I'm thinking this place isn't great for that since there's not a lot of room. The wait staff isn't exactly the friendliest or the fastest when it comes to coming around and taking orders, BUT trust me, the dumplings outweigh the less-than-enthusiastic waiter and it's still very much worth a visit.We decided to order the pork and chive dumplings (freshly made, meaty, very flavorful), an order of the soup dumplings (amazing....a MUST order on any visit here), a taiwanese chicken bento box (lot's of chicken, great portion with rice, vegetables and soy sauce egg) and an onion pancake (tasted pretty standard...it was good).Overall the food here is great! Because of how small it is I'm sure this place gets packed during usual rush times. I would highly recommend this spot as one of the best spots for dumplings in the bay. Just don't visit on Mondays.
Reviewed by: Chris D. on: 3/2/2013 5:43:00 AM
Lovely green onion cake, and the Shanghai soup dumplings were a great surprise.
Reviewed by: Caroline H. on: 3/2/2013 5:22:00 AM
Ambiance: small/hole in the wall, straight forward service. No funny business. Nice and simple.Food: menu is simple with a good variety of offered items, the largest being the dumplings, and some noodle options. The dumplings are excellent. I ordered the pork and chive dumplings. The surprise of a little bit of broth inside the already steamed to perfection and moist dumplings gave the dumplings good added flavor. My other favorite is the seafood chow mein. The noodles are really flavorful.Return factor: will definitely come back.Cash/credit: they take credit card, which is also nice.
Reviewed by: Stone S. on: 2/25/2013 4:28:00 PM
ever since sun tung in downtown san mateo closed, this place has become my go to place for northern chinese comfort food. the best pork and cabbage dumplings, and the pig ears are really authentic as well. must try "hole in the wall" no frills noodles and dumplings
Reviewed by: Sophie Z. on: 2/21/2013 11:47:00 PM
Dumplings galore! Our fave dumpling shop in the Peninsula. We are especially keen on the lamb dumplings and the pork+fennel dumplings. We ordered 4 plates of dumpling tonight and the waitress laughed at our order. I don't know why. What else are you supposed to order at a place called I Dumpling?
Reviewed by: Mark D. on: 2/20/2013 9:09:00 PM
Very good boiled dumplings. It's 12 for $6-$7.Pork, shrimp, chives - yummy. My favorite, mostly because I love pork.Lamb - this was good too. My mom, whose favorite food is dumplings (literally eats them at least twice a week) liked this one the best.Chicken + Corn - was interesting, and solid, though I preferred the other two. But you can't go wrong ordering this if you're eager to try it like I was.I've only had boiled dumplings at here and Everyday Beijing so far. This one was much better. Their skin is slightly thicker, which I enjoyed.
Reviewed by: Amy L. on: 2/20/2013 2:18:00 AM
Recently visited I Dumpling in the late afternoon on a Saturday. Is a good place to grab a bite but nothing fancy. My friend and I started with an order of onion pancake which was thin and crispy. It was not oily at all, just the way we like it. Followed by chive & pork dumpling. The skin of the dumpling was perfect, not too thick or thin. The filling was good too. Finally, we shared an order of the shredded vegetable and pork soup noodle. The noodle was smooth and tasty. However, the broth was a bit too salty for me but my friend didn't seem to mind. We weren't able to finish all that we order, we had left over. The serving size was decent for the price. I would return and try other items on their menu.
Reviewed by: Maria S. on: 2/16/2013 7:29:00 AM
Busy and very small. No togo menus but it smells yummy! Cant wait!!
Reviewed by: Kaori M. on: 2/9/2013 3:51:00 PM
yummy.i assumed that the owner didn't speak Japanese and talked about stupid things with japanese friends. then at the end, she thanked us with perfect japanese.
Reviewed by: Anton E. on: 2/8/2013 11:59:00 AM
I'm not a service hound but the people have been straight up R U DE,! Not bad service rude. More like temper inducing rudeness, to the point where I was going to tell the owner to stick it where the sun does not shine.But the dumplings are delicious.Hopefully I have a better experience if I ever return, I'm not above changing my tune.
Reviewed by: Grace K. on: 2/8/2013 7:30:00 AM
Really not the best of places. We got shrimp and chive dumplings, xiao long bao, and a beef tendon soup. The dumplings were fine, but the xlb were overpriced at over $1 each, and the soup wasn't the best-tasting. Most bothersome, however, was the way we were all but ignored when we stepped in the restaurant.Bottom line: It's not the worst of places, but really not the cleanest or best-decorated of places either. Bring your business to Panda Dumpling around the corner for better bang for your buck.
Reviewed by: Sfgpgirl G. on: 1/23/2013 1:38:00 AM
I'm a fan! reasonably priced pillows of deliciousness (shrimp, pork, chive) and the spicy beef noodle soup fit the bill after a chilly workout @ Bair Island Aquatic Center. Great value and delicious food in a not so fancy atmosphere. And ya, they are cashing in on the I-anything name (cheesy) but who cares? I-DON'T :-)
Reviewed by: Lindsay S. on: 1/19/2013 3:41:00 AM
What's not to love? This hole in the wall restaurant is inexpensive, tasty, friendly service, cozy...did I mention tasty??
Reviewed by: Sarah S. on: 1/6/2013 7:18:00 PM
3.5Small restaurant in redwood city with excellent dumplings. I also got the beef noodle soup which was a bit of a letdown.
Reviewed by: mjmzwong on: 2011-07-18
Love this family run place! We always order the Taiwan Bento Boxes, marinated cucumbers, tofu...the milk tea is delish. This is just good homestyle cooking. I love giving this place my business-- they are super nice and the food is so good!
Reviewed by: xr-7dh on: 2011-07-17
Great food, great price, great service. The fried tofu is a must have! I get it on every visit.
Reviewed by: kunhanle543 on: 2011-06-03
Excellent food and family-like service. Also the price is very cheap.
Reviewed by: bennyporky on: 2011-05-27
authentic Taiwan cooking !! super nice family services, don't miss great hole in the wall !!!
Reviewed by: canomap on: 2011-05-27
Most friendly service. Love the food.
Reviewed by: ecyt_2006 on: 2011-05-22
Love the food.Great family!
Reviewed by: cbkok97 on: 2011-05-21
Love the food. Love the service. Super friendly owners. Authentic Taiwanese food that uses the best ingredients.
Reviewed by: ecmt on: 2011-05-21
Great family run restaurant. Excellent value and authentic taste.
Reviewed by: Lllycolon on: 2011-05-17
The best food, at the best rates, served by the best family. You owe it to your taste buds to check it out.
Reviewed by: sophia on: 2011-05-17
So good!!!! The food is amazing and the family that owns it is super sweet and nice. Very home-feeling. Must try the fried chicken or fried porkchop with rice to get an actual Experience of eating REAL TAIWANESE FOOD! so good MUST TRY!!
Reviewed by: jason on: 2011-05-17
The moment you get in you reserve a table by flipping over a sign on the table, then you order what you want at the register. I got the beef noodle soup and it was really good. It's not spicy, but you can add your own spicy sauce. The portion of it was pretty large too. On the side I ordered the fried tofu, which I liked. The lady (I think she might be owner?) working the register was super nice.